Competence Framework


The EMCC Competence Framework is the result of extensive and collaborative research to identify the core competences of a professional coach and mentor. It is widely recognised, regarded and endorsed within the coaching and mentoring communities.

It is the gold standard for coaching and mentoring, intended for individuals, as well as coaching and mentoring development programmes.

There are eight competence categories across four levels:

Competence categories

  • Understanding self
  • Commitment to self-development
  • Managing the contract
  • Building the relationship
  • Enabling insight and learning
  • Outcome and action orientation
  • Use of models and techniques
  • Evaluation

Each category has a range of specific capability indicators, with the requirements increasing at each of the four levels.

Download the EMCC Competence Framework below.

Competence Glossary
Competence Framework
Diversity and Inclusion Declaration