Professional Development

The EMCC exists to promote best practice and the expectation of best practice in mentoring, coaching and supervision globally. We are a global council that consists of representatives from national EMCCs plus direct members in countries where a local EMCC does not yet exist. The EMCC membership is a rich mixture of individual mentors, coaches, mentoring/coaching organisations, training and education providers, buyers of mentoring/coaching and mentor/coach associations, large organisations/corporate members – all of whom share EMCC’s vision to promote best practice in mentoring/coaching/supervision.
As part of our drive for raising and promoting quality standards in mentoring/coaching/supervision, EMCC UK created a pathway to professional excellence based on the EMCC Quality Standards (EMCC Quality Standards are: Code of Conduct, Global Code of Ethics, Competence Framework).

EMCC UK clearly define the route to professionalism. We require our members to commit to working ethically, maintain fitness to practice and fulfil relevant statutory duties.
The journey for a professional practitioner commences with quality training. Following training it is essential for individuals to continue to develop their competence through practical experience, engage in reflective practice, further learning (CPD) and supervision. These are the elements required to become accredited by EMCC.

EMCC UK provides professional practitioners with wide range of support to help to evidence their fitness to practice, to establish their credibility and stand out in a busy market place.
The quick reference table below points you to supporting documents and where you can find them.
 Qualification or Credential Global Code of Ethics
Code of Conduct - Professional Charter
Diversity Policy
EMCC Competence Framework
 Reflective Practice Reflections Series
Reflective Practice Pack
 CPD Networks CPD
CPD Guide
 Supervision  See below - ESIA, ESQA
 Accreditation  See below - EIA, EQA, ISMCP

EMC Council (International) is responsible for accreditation and assessment. Please refer to the International website for detailed information (click here).
The following information outlines the accreditation and assessment process, where you can find more detailed information and links to supporting guides.

European Individual Accreditation (EIA)

What is European Individual Accreditation (EIA)?

The EIA is a Europe-wide recognised award that demonstrates that an individual practising as a professional mentor/coach has the appropriate level of knowledge and the ability to apply it effectively in his/her practice. The EIA sets very high standards and is recognised as a quality mentor/coach accreditation in the marketplace. It raises standards and professionalism in mentoring/coaching by:

• setting high standards in assessment criteria • measuring ability against our evidence-based competence framework • using reliable and rigorous assessment processes  • demanding a professional, reflective approach 
• ensuring a commitment to continuing development 

Who is it for?

The EIA is relevant for anyone involved in mentoring/coaching, whether it is just one part of the role or a main function. You can apply for accreditation at the appropriate level, from Foundation to Master Practitioner. The advantage of the EMCC’s accreditation process is that you can join and get accredited early on in your experience as a mentor/coach. As developments occur awarded you can gain accreditation at higher levels reflecting growth ability and experience.

The benefits of EIA

Having an EIA award distinguishes you as a professional mentor/coach, with sound underpinning knowledge and the ability to demonstrate your ability against demanding and rigorous standards. Specifically it:

• provides users/buyers of mentoring/coaching services greater certainty of your competence and ability  • raises personal credibility and professional standing 
• demonstrates that you are continually developing and always improving your mentoring/coaching ability
• raises the credibility and standards of our profession 
• is more than a qualification – it recognises that as an EIA holder you are able to apply good practice in mentoring/coaching 
• provides a framework for personal development

It is recognised that achieving the EIA accreditation requires commitment and hard work from applicants. It needs a professional approach for a professional and meaningful accreditation and applicants say that the process of working towards their accreditation is both affirming and developmentally useful.

For more information and to apply please go to EMCC International website by following this link.


European Quality Award (EQA)

EMCC’s European Quality Award (EQA) offers the market place the much needed framework to enable the quality of mentoring/coaching services to meet and be recognised for meeting high quality standards of the profession. Mentoring/coaching training organisations may apply for their programmes to be awarded at one of four levels:

Foundation ● Practitioner ● Senior Practitioner ● Master Practitioner

A list of EQA Providers can be downloaded here.
Individuals who wish to train as mentors/coaches can select from the list of EQA Providers with confidence that the content of the training is of high quality and recognised by the market they wish to enter.

International Standards for Mentoring and Coaching Programmes ( ISMCP)

The International Standards for Mentoring and Coaching Programmes (ISMCP) is an independent accreditation awarded to organisations designing, delivering and evaluating mentoring and/or coaching programmes either ‘in-house’ or externally. It is an integral and essential step on the path to establishing the professional credibility and status of good mentoring and/or coaching programme management, ensuring programmes are:

thoughtfully designed
systematically managed
significantly contributing to the development of participants, strategic drivers of the organisation and wider stakeholder objectives

EMCC aims to develop the Standards continuously, incorporating changes that reflect the wider range of innovations in application and method of mentoring and coaching, and the diversity of approaches arising from different cultures and contexts. We do this by engaging with practitioners and academics in the field, internationally. Therefore, the emphasis of this award is to raise standards whilst acknowledging existing excellence.

What does the ISMCP offer?

The purpose of the ISMCP is to provide a consistent and globally accepted benchmark of good practice in mentoring and coaching programme management. Organisations will benefit by:

legitimising their mentoring or coaching programme against a recognised standard
strengthening and improving the mentoring or coaching programme through rigorous assessment
continuing to build the business case for mentoring or coaching, influencing key stakeholders
identifying opportunities to promote mentoring or coaching development activity internally and/or externally.

Why is the award important for your organisation?

Your organisation will benefit in many ways through applying for and achieving the award, including:

an audit check on quality, allowing your organisation to reflect on its processes, procedures
and outputs
assurance that your programmes are of an agreed standard and benchmarked against best practice
feedback elicited through the ISMCP process can lead to programme development and improvements
marketing opportunities for your programmes stemming from a successful application process
your reputation for being an organisation leading and managing mentoring and/or coaching programmes to a high standard.
If you are interested in ISMCP please contact: