International EMCC
Change Font Size
Member Login
EMCC European Quality Award
EMCC European Individual Accreditation
EMCC UK Membership

Competence Framework

The EMCC Competence Framework is the result of extensive and collaborative research to identify the core competences of a professional Coach and Mentor.  It is widely recognised, regarded and endorsed within the Coaching and Mentoring Communities.

It is the ‘gold’ standard for Coaching and Mentoring against which to benchmark for individuals and coaching and mentoring development programmes.

There are eight competence categories across four levels.  These eight core areas comprise of:

  • Understanding Self
  • Commitment to Self-Development
  • Managing the Contract
  • Building the Relationship
  • Enabling Insight and Learning
  • Outcome and Action Orientation
  • Use of Models and Techniques
  • Evaluation

Each area has a range of specific capability indicators with the requirements at each of the four levels increasing.

With our commitment to setting the standards for coaching and mentoring across Europe and beyond we invite you to download the EMCC Competence Framework to find out for yourself and for you to benchmark your own practice.

Members' Stories
It is definitely valuable being part of a professional body that gives you a sense of community, keeps you abreast of developments and offers great learning opportunities.
Dominique Hainebach